Welcome pole with daffodils

We had a walk down a different trail at Xwaaqw'um this morning. I liked the daffodils in the hands of one of the welcome poles. The poles are aging beautifully.
Krista asked me to have a look at one of her papers for a 4th year uni course in Social Justice, checking for wording and grammar. It's been so remarkable to see how her knowledge and awareness have grown over the years. She's going to be a fine teacher who will make every child feel validated in her classroom by acknowledging and affirming where they come from and the knowledge and experiences they bring with them. I love reading her writing, and it was great to have a few minutes talking on the phone with her about the few changes I thought could be made and about some of the experiences she had visiting my classroom and attending Indigenous events with us. Great memories!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.