Optimistic Osprey

 I was delighted to see him back, but he was trying to land on a branch that wasn't really strong enough to hold him.  It took several attempts but he finally settled down, if a bit precariously.  He had been flying around looking for a fish but was disturbed by a couple of people in a canoe so he gave up his attempt at fishing and ended up in a pine tree at the end of the estuary.

I had a wonderful visit with my BlipBuddy Mary Jo.  It was so nice to see her but by the time she got to my place most of the critters had left with the exception of one heron.  He was not a happy heron either.  The first canoe of people had agitated him out of his hiding place and he took off with a great squawk.  He relocated and then apparently something else annoyed him and with another loud squawk, he relocated once more.  

Speaking of canoes (not the ones who annoyed the heron) just as the light was beginning to fade we were lucky to see two people in the most beautiful hand-hewn canoes.   They were made of cedar, I assume each from a single tree, and much longer than most canoes.  I hope they come back again.   They were beautiful.  I put a picture of them in Extra. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.