Derwentwater

Took a walk through Manesty "park" - at the south end of Derwentwater. I came upon these rocks and thought that they'd make an interesting foreground. A 0.6 medium edged grad filter and a big stopper gave me a 30 second exposure, which smoothed the water surface off just as I wanted. There was a problem with the boat, which moved considerably during the exposure. So I took a second exposure without the big stopper at a high shutter speed to keep the boat sharp. carefully masking the boat into the LE shot in PhotoShop allowed me to get a sharp boat on the smooth water. The reflection of the sail on the LE shot wasn't in line with the sharp boat, so I had to copy the reflection to another layer, warp and reposition it, so it lined up with the sharp sail!

We have to suffer for our art

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.