madowoi

By madowoi

Jesup Path

Played around with the fisheye lens for today's Wide Wednesday challenge, "In the Center."

While wandering off the boardwalk in the mucky woods I somehow called my mom with the phone in my pocket. Out of nowhere I heard her voice calling my name. I'm thinking, "She always did tend to show up places unexpectedly!" It was a nice surprise. I made my way back to the boardwalk and sat on a bench soaking up the sun while we had a nice chat.

Then I decided on a whim to head up the Homans Path cause it has the coolest staircases. This trail was abandoned after a large fire burned through the area in 1947, but since it was built so solidly it remained accessible. It was finally reopened by the park in 2003, only to be damaged by an earthquake three years later. It wasn't a big earthquake, but I was living over an hour away at the time and can remember when it struck. Even though I had never experienced such a thing before, it seemed immediately clear what it was. Good thing nobody was hiking on the trail that day!

I took the extra up on the path looking east. There's a view of the meadow in the middle distance from another vantage point in the extra I posted here. It's not actually much work to get up to this spot and it was a great place to relax for a bit and enjoy having the week off. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.