peterdawson

By peterdawson28

Big bird...

I took another wander around Home Park this morning. I was busy trying to get some shots of a pair of swans on the long water when I became aware of a whirring beating noise from behind me. I turned round in time to see this mute swan complete its take off run and get airborne.

Sadly my reactions were too slow to change settings to capture the whole sequence but I found this frame rather pleasing, because although it's taken almost straight into the light it shows the massive wing structure that's needed to get these huge but graceful birds aloft.

Today's extra is some cherry blossom from a tree near the Kingston gate. These trees coming into bloom usually presage a period of strong winds and rain, let's hope 2021 bucks that trend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.