Catchin' Some Rays

'Gators to the left of me, 'gators to the right of me! 
C and I spent an enjoyable Earth Day morning at Sweetwater Wetlands Park. Seems that everyone was out enjoying the sun's warming rays and that included the resident reptiles of course. Spotted a couple of young 'gators sharing a bit of floating flora. They were probably a little over a year old. Alligators are usually around 9.5" at birth and grow about 8-10 inches a year to an average of 6-12'. Females average around 10' while males can grow much larger. Take a look at the *extra...a young female on the top and a very large 'Bull 'Gator' below. He was quite a distance from me and I used a 400mm lens to get the shot. There were signs around the park warning visitors to be aware of alligators on the banks near the water areas. It's still breeding season and they can get rather frisky, especially those Big Boys! 
Stay safe!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.