Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Under the bridge..natural

The Natural Bridge in Natural Bridge, Virginia.  At 215 feet high (65.5meters) it is a naturally worn opened caused by the water wearing away the limestone rock in the timeframe of 500 million years.  But in 1774, Thomas Jefferson purchased the bridge and surrounding 157 acres from the English King George for about $2.40. He mapped the area and in 1803 he built a cabin for his visits to the property.   As the years passed the state of Virginia acquired the property.    It is a very popular tourist stop as well as the Natural Bridge Historic Hotel where we spent the night last night.  

The road into the town, Lee Hwy,  is on top of the bridge...which is kind of scary now that I think about it!   

We walked here for over 2 miles (and 155 steps down and then back up!..yes, the hubby made it with his knee but he moved at turtle speed!).  The trail led to a small waterfall but the walk in the woods, full of wildflowers and listening to the singing of Cedar Creek made the morning really great for me.   

I was definitely in one of my happy places.    Made even better as the woman at the ticket booth paid for our tickets.   She was a tourist also from Florida!   So nice of her.  So I left my money with the ranger so I could pay for the next two people!    People are kind and good!   She took this photo of me and the man!

After the walk, we drove out to the interstate to get to the next location, the Skyline Drive and Shenandoah National Park.   Most of the trees along the road were still bare but looking out over the vistas at the overlooks was green.   And maybe we saw some snow!!

I have made a few collages of other scenes from today.  The flowers at the Natural Bridge..so many!!  Scenes from the Natural Bridge trail.  The mountain views along the Skyline Drive.  

Tomorrow a trip to the New River Gorge.  Hoping it won't be so cold and windy.  

I told myself not to take so many photos tomorrow...like I will really listen to myself!!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.