Day 143
Earth Day
Anniversary of Mom's death in 1979


I had to get my feet into sand and water to honor Mom who was an original and dumped us kids out on the side of a highway to pick up the trash others had thrown out their car, after she blared the horn so aggressively at them as she drove fast to make a point - oh no shrinking violet Janet Seelye Smith!

and then - I had not realized that i had set up a kind of memorial yesterday with Tom's "burial" with you in attendance, but I did.  Your presence in the way of comments, hearts, stars, when i read it all this morning, had me realize, that i finally put a bit of this grief to rest with your witnessing.  That was not how I had thought about my ceremony, but it was the un-intended and so rich result.  I felt and feel lighter - and grateful and humbled by the care that is shared here.


(the extra - famous Cannon Beach Haystack Rock!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.