A face only a mother could love....?

I set off down the village this afternoon intending to have a short walk and then call at the butchers.  Having reached the crossing I realised I didn’t have a mask with me and there was a queue outside.  No matter, I’ll call tomorrow.  Decided to carry on walking and go round the estate. I walked round the lower paths, and then up to the mansion.  Passing the cafe it was very quiet so decided to grab a takeaway latte and walk around the pond.  I was going to go into the hide, but a family with 4 children had taken over all the benches and set up a picnic. The regular “twitchers” were not amused, and a lot of chuntering was going on, lol!  I did the pond circuit and then saw quite a crowd at the edge of the pond.  Having heard that the moorhens had replaced their fallen nest I went to have a look.  This little chap was holding centre stage and was totally unfazed by all the humans staring at him!  Needless to say lots of photos were taken (more in extras - sorry!).  They really are ungainly little chicks with their big feet and bald patches on their heads, but very cute too, and with sparkly fluffy feathers!  The nest is very near the edge of the pond so I hope this little fellow stays safe!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.