“I never travel without my diary. One should always have something sensational to read in the train.” 
― Oscar Wilde, 'The Importance of Being Earnest' (1895)

This evening I watched the 2002 film of Oscar Wilde's "The Importance of Being Earnest" with Colin Firth, Reese Witherspoon, Judi Dench amongst others. Not sure I liked the embellishments, extra scenes, but Wilde's script of course, is always entertaining and Colin Firth is, well, Colin Firth. 

It had been a quiet, but pleasant day. Warm, sunny, peaceful. I filled my hours happily enough though I did little more than laze about, fritter time on social media, chat with Graham, and wander the garden to take some photos.  I also did 90 minutes of online tutoring so that makes the day productive, n'est ce pas? (yes I'm watching Poirot reruns right now !!)

As well as St George's Day in England, today is National Sovereignty and Children's Day here in Turkey and, now that I am retired, it's the first time I have not participated in any kind of ceremonial school assembly for the occasion. Actually, don't even know if there was one, as school is online learning. Interesting times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.