Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Twins!

A hot sunny morning in the garden. JR planted her geraniums, Archie played with the plastic pots, and I gave the pavers a good sweep. I had to have my sunhat on.

We then set off to get our second vaccines. Archie came with us, but half way down the road he started barking and dragged JR on down to Christine’s house - she was outside and wee Bonnie was also there. He must have sensed they were there. 

JR went in for her jag first, Arch and I sat in the shade. Then I went in - not busy at all, but the nurse said they’d been ‘steady’. Feels good to get that done! Funnily enough, I saw a sign saying ‘No photography’ at the entrance - either I didn’t see it last time, or it’s new.

We were going to meet Pip, our new neighbour, on the Links, but realised that there were just too many people sitting around having picnics, so we changed it to meeting in the cemetery. Pip’s mum was quite anxious - I think he’s had a bad experience with another dog and he’s quite nervous. Archie and JR had walked on a bit, while I waited by the gate. Pip is SUCH a gorgoeus boy - very like Archie. Same size and colouring with a traditional schnauzer cut - hairy legs, skirt, but not a hairy tail. Archie came running back to meet Pip, and there was no barking - just a sniff and then they ignored each other. All good. Archie got all silly at one point and wanted to be chased, so he ran around in circles - he rarely does this. But Pip couldn’t be bothered. So a successful first meeting. Next step is Pip coming to visit Archie in our back garden.

Back home, hot’n’bothered, and I was absolutely stuffed! I checked how many steps I’d done, and realised why - 12,027! I think that’s a record (for me).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.