Crowd

I dreamt I was back shuffling along some inner city streets in Stoke-on-Trent, beneath the pottery kilns. I was feeling anxious, spotted someone I know outside a greengrocer’s up the street, and was desperately skulking and trying to avoid being seen by him. Then it transformed into Easter weekend and families burst onto the street to eat their lunch together.

In real life I’ve noticed that since the streets have become busier I’m more cognisant of the feeling of not wanting to be in busy places or run into someone by surprise. This is more related to misanthropy than fear of Covid, but is also because the increased activity can be over-stimulating. What a strange existence we’ve lived for the last year, compared to what we were previously used to.

Today was gorgeous bright sunshine so a trot around at lunchtime was just the ticket. Above average day of productivity at work (by lockdown standards), a new cherub gathering strength to leave hospital in Staffordshire, and blue skies. I’ve certainly had worse lockdown Thursdays.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.