Roseannasnp

By Roseannasnp

Place Schumann

That spelling doesn't look quite right - but I took this photograph from the window of Scotland House in the middle of the European District. Scotland House is the base for any of our visits to Brussels & it is within walking distance of almost all the important EU buildings.

Thing is, that means the Place is also the preferred route/location for any and all demonstrations. I don't think I have ever been in Brussels when there hasn't been a demo. I saw two this week. The first on Thursday morning was a Greenpeace demo against General Electric referencing Fukushima. Today's demo was gathering at around lunchtime & I have no idea at all what it was about.

If there are marches - and there frequently are - the police just close all the surrounding roads to let them through no matter the disruption. Scotland House is in prime viewing position to watch all the comings and goings - though I suspect the comings and goings often remain very mysterious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.