WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Viridescent

Sorry not sorry about the cat blip. Back to vines! They are at the brilliant green stage, before they get to the big messy mass of leaves stage in a few weeks.

A bright but cool and windy day. We went to Lézignan for the newish local producers' market that allegedly takes place on Saturday mornings. No sign of it, and the streets were eerily deserted. It wasn't a wasted journey though as we did some other shopping, including stocking up with yet more varieties of flour at the organic shop.

I bought some tahini as well; S boiled half a kilo of chickpeas a couple of days ago, and when we got back I made the leftovers into hummus. I've never made it before; after googling recipes, I found a surely authentic one that says you absolutely must peel the chickpeas. I wasn't about to peel them individually, but I found the method of putting them in a bowl of water and rubbing them together was pretty effective at removing a large proportion of skins. It's now maturing in the fridge, as we have other plans for this evening ... a doorstep delivery from O Mazette. 

My next challenge is to make some sourdough pittas to go with it. My baking surge has been stopped in its tracks by the starter suddenly going into unexplained hibernation, but I used my new-found expertise from the Facebook group. After a couple of hours on top of the router, it is bubbling again.

This afternoon we walked over to S and R's to catch up with their news. Not that they have any; like us they are not going anywhere. But we still spent a couple of hours chinwagging over cups of tea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.