Hanami

Or, more prosaically, the UK's first ever 'Blossom Watch Day', as initiated by the National Trust.

A shame on a sunny day but I spent quite a bit of it indoors, attending the Homebuilding and Renovating Spring Show. It's impressive how much has been learnt over the last year about making events feel similar to the real thing. There are talks, stalls and opportunities to chat with speakers. I've put a screenshot of the interface in extras (hoping that doesn't breach copyright). Obviously it's just a set of hyperlinks which could have been put in a list but for anyone who's ever been to a trade show, it feels pretty familiar and intuitive. I'm missing out on stroking triple glazing, but then I don't have to catch a train to Birmingham. Not a bad trade-off.

When I wasn't indoors and wasn't taking pictures of cherry blossom, I potted out another 20 of my far-too-many-lettuce seedlings. I have fantasies of eating homegrown salads every day for two months but I know really that it'll be like last year and I'll have 30 bolting lettuces all on the same day then 40 the next day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.