Milk Maids, Ladies Smock, Cuckoo Flower

Cardamine Pratensis


A walk up the hillside this morning to see if these plants were putting on a show.  Last year I discovered this fairly extensive patch as I walked back from Wortley.  They are the host plant for the Orange Tip Butterfly and as I spotted a male in our garden earlier in the week I wondered if there might be any sign of females beginning to occupy the plants - a bit too early I think.  I enjoyed my walk, but it was getting a bit tough on my ankle as I made my way down over slightly rough ground.  I did manage a seat in the grass to take this image and also managed to get up again, if somewhat inelegantly - a good job that we haven’t had any rain for a while.  Oh and I was trying to tell GG that we don’t have skylarks here - not true,  There was one singing beautifully as I set off back down the hill to home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.