Devonian

By Mover

Special

Italian style Welsh Rarebit. Sometimes I feel like I haven’t lived, but apparently this was how pizza was promoted in the 1950s, according to Andrew Marr in his History of Britain.It reminded me of Billy Connolly writing about menus and specials in his book ‘Tall Tales and Wee Stories which I have just laughed my way through. At one restaurant ‘potatoes of the night’ were on the menu. They sound lovely and exotic, but were just boiled, mashed, roasted, or whatever the chef decided on the night.
The cafe which offers ISWR is a wonderful place - the Locksbridge Tea Gardens, Teigngrace, near Newton Abbot, Devon. It sits between an old railway line and the Stover Canal, next to a cycle trail. Delighted it is open again for ‘tea and niceties’, for cyclists and walkers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.