Crappy day saved by sunset

While, for once, the day might have been glorious, I fell victim to the excesses of the night before and awoke with a chronic hangover, a problem not helped by the fact that I had a whole day of translation ahead of me AND Mrs. Ottawacker was busy and unable to do her share of the parenting routine.

In between running up and downstairs to feed, water, fix computers, turn down volume on classes, etc. etc., I managed to get myself back into a shape healthy enough to translate. Then I made the mistake of reading the headlines in The Guardian.

It appears the UK is turning increasingly into a fascist state. That **** Patel has now made it illegal to demonstrate peacefully in certain locations. This, I think - and hope, is a huge mistake. You see, when you are forbidden from demonstrating peacefully and want (need) to demonstrate, well, the only solution is to demonstrate violently.

This might be what the UK needs to rouse itself from the indolent torpor of the last 5 years. I mean, I doubt it, but you never know. It works for the French...

As I climbed down the stairs for a late family dinner, the sunset was wonderful. And, to a large extent, it saved the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.