component stack

On my way back from my wee contribution to POP last night my back wheel started behaving very oddly, clunking and slowing and slewing all at once as if the bearings had gone and the brake was rubbing and a couple of spokes had popped. Some peering and experimentation as I slowly continued home showed the spokes were fine, the brake only.rubbing a bit and the tyre intact, but the freewheel seemed to be grinding somewhat. I don't have a tool for removing them, but that meant I had a spare freewheel from when I couldn't replace it when I replaced the chain and chainring a couple of years ago to go with the spare hub, rim, spokes, nipples and tyre I'd had for a while, ready for when the rim packed in or for when I was organised enough to prepare and entirely spare wheel which could then be a spare winter-tyred wheel. The other bike needs winter tyres swapped out and rusty chain/cassette removed, so building a new wheel was the quicker job to get something rideable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.