Loft

Had to pop into the loft this evening to check the wiring for a security light that isn't working right.  It all looked OK to me, so it must be a setting on the (sadly rather inaccessible) light that causes it to fail to turn off when it is supposed to.

More productively I've been playing with HF antennas, and according to PSK reporter my experiment with an Alpha Delta DX-CC HF antenna is getting my signal out across Western Europe and into the USA (even Washington State!) using the FT8 weak signal digital mode on 20m, and across Western Europe on 80m and right into Eastern Europe on 40m. Performance on 20m seems comparable with my single band dipole which isn't too surprising for a fan dipole, and while 80m uses loading coils to keep the size manageable so is a compromise, it's nice to have it as an option!

I was on a club net on 70cm this evening and can I declare the new VHF/UHF antenna a success too, I could hear more participants and got much better signal reports!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.