" Born to shop"

This snug corner of our local shopping mall in Stirling came as a pleasant surprise when I ventured in for the first time since lockdown.
 
Sadly, it occupies the entrance to the now closed Debenhams store.
 
It’s place for people to sit, relax and chat – a far cry from the old 20th century mantra “ born to shop”.
 
Yes there were some shop closures. I counted ten, maybe more. Sometimes they had been so tastefully boarded up that it was difficult to tell.
 
It was reasonably busy though I am told that this morning it was packed out. 
 
And to round off my first venture into city life again I even had a coffee and scone from a café in the centre with outdoor seating.
 
There was no mistaking the air of optimism about as folk passed, masked of course, laden with shopping bags. I made a modest purchase of a new sketchbook.
Life after Covid is different and there is an edgy nervousness about it. Quite how different we are about to find out in the coming months.
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.