Dave77

By Dave77plus1

Roots

South Pennines today, but not in mood to take photos until, on an impulse, I visited my grandmother's home of 60 years ago. She lived at number 2, Park View, which is the one with the red door in the porch. There wasn't a porch, back then. Nor was there electricity, or an indoor toilet. It was candles up to bed, and a chamber-pot under it.

I spoke to the lady at number 3, and she showed me round. The 'extra' is the view round the back, where my granny's was the one on the left. Again, there's a porch that wasn't there back in the day.

It's a beautiful looking terrace, built over 250 years ago, I was told. Perhaps 280. Almost on the old Halifax / Huddersfield border, now Calderdale, I think. My dad's family lived in Outlane, only a few hundred yards away, on the other side of the boundary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.