atoll

By atoll

Men in Sheds

I was on my way to mum's this afternoon to drop off her Mothers Day card and present for Sunday, and have a bite for tea. Just before I got there, I pulled-up around the corner to take a snap of this eccentric one-man weaving shed. I have passed it many times. It made me think I should start a 'men in shed' series.

I read that in 2009, retired weaver Peter Mitchell converted this old coal store behind his Silsden pet shop into Peter's Weaving Shed. He now weaves textiles from here on two hand looms, and with more or less the same sort of craft used since Saxon times.

The shed is also described (in Peter's words) as a "hands-on working museum", and even runs school educational workshops.

It must be like the Tardis inside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.