Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Hettiquette

This is a rescue vacuum cleaner, it has already had two unhappy homes and I was asked if I would like to give it a third chance. Well to be truthful, the tiny little car vacuum I bought from a charity shop does not really serve much of a purpose, I suspect cracked tubes reduce suction to the point of ineffectual, so I jumped at the chance. I've fancied one of these ever since Spouse wrecked the Dyson sucking up cement powder. Admittedly I had assumed I would wait until I had a bit more space, but I'm not one to look a gift Hetty in the mouth.

Since it arrived here I have learned at least two things I didn't know before: the first was that it isn't very nice to pass on a vacuum cleaner to a new owner with a half-full bag, particularly if you own a dog. My first session with Hetty here made my tiny flat reek of dog, luckily I had reason to go out for several hours. I have now removed the old bag and replaced it with a new one and look forward to our next training session. But the second thing I learned is that there is an etiquette involved in the timing of a spot of housework if you have downstairs neighbours.
I know! Say nothing!
I've never had downstairs neighbours and a vacuum cleaner at the same time before so these are things I just need to get used to. I think that the best time to use my new vacuum cleaner is when the rugby is on, so probably 5th February 2022 would be a good time. That's OK, it fits in nicely with my normal housework schedule.

In other news, the RSPCA has thanked me for my information and will be getting in touch with both Network Rail and Medway Council. Phew!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.