A good age

Elbows and I went walking in Epping again - I had to stop and stare up at this tree. It’s so old and gnarly and wonderful. Was it there during the World Wars? Probably.

The cows ... well, they were all lying down but this one got up to stare at me and I hadn’t even got close. We’d put the dogs on leads and they were a long way away. I know you age cattle by their teeth but I wonder if those horns imply age?

On the way home, we stopped in to see lovely Theo. We haven’t been allowed to see him in person since last March and he’s had a couple of heart attacks and surgery since then. Their children didn’t want them to have visitors or have the vaccines. But Theo walked Cholmeley every week day for years, out of love, and for no other reason. I was relieved that Cholmeley hadn’t forgotten him. Mutual love and adoration was abound.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.