OryK

By oryk

Gears

In class today we watched a video about social linguistic, dialects, accents, jargon, and whatnot. So, when I brought my bike upstairs to make a few adjustments, I couldn't stop thinking of colloquialisms: shifting gears, put this in gear, get your[self] in gear, ten speed gear, and the like. This is a strange mindset to adopt. everything I look at now seems to grow unintentional, and often misleading, layers of information and meaning.

Before class was a wonderful morning/early afternoon of music, dart practice, self-reflection, cognitive exploration, and piecing together what kind of person I am and what kind of person I want to be.

Favorite moments:
facing the wind
schlepping my bike upstairs
playing mind games with myself
remembering
developing my personal philosophy
interacting with the prof
seeing the shock on my friend's face when she realized my age

I do recognize that this is just one gear. The plural just seems to make a better title.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.