New found land

This is a very rare site - feel privileged!

It's a generous portion of the desk space in my workshop/studio/office/den/playroom. Until a few minutes before this photo was taken it had been largely invisible for well over 10 years. It had on it:

- a 2011 27" iMac
- 3 mains extension blocks
- 5 external hard drives
- a DVD player/recorder
- a USB hub
- a small sound-mixing desk
- a speaker unit
- keyboard, graphics tablet etc
- gaming joystick
-  PLUS all the cables associated with the above - I guess about 10 metres worth.

All of that stuff is still in the room, and much of it will be back on the desk. But not the 2011 iMac: that is being replaced by a 2020 iMac which I ordered from Apple yesterday afternoon and took (free) delivery of today - thanks to the very cheerful and positive Dean of DPD.

This is a great opportunity to rationalise (down to just 2 external drives) and rethink layout, ergonomics etc etc.

A few minutes after I took the plunge and ordered the new iMac (feeling guilty, of course) my main client emailed me for the first time in a year with a video-editing job - vindication!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.