campervan man

By campervan

Not a good choice

Lots of things happening, lots of jobs needing doing and several projects closing in on completion. All of this is why Blip has taken a bit of a back seat. Currently the only muscle in my body that does not ache is my brain so I am sitting down and writing this blip, the words are not so much for you ( its not very exciting), they are an excuse for me not to have to move.
I spoke about planting the new cherry tree I got for my birthday the other day. What I did not mention was the 10 well established rose bushes I had to dig out and then replant elsewhere. They were very determined not to relocate and I have the scratches to prove it. There is also the question of an old round rose bed changing to a smaller square cherry tree bed and the raking grading sifting of the soil prior to it being grassed.
Sometime ago I mentioned we were not happy with the patio and something needed doing with it.The first thing was clean it, done a few weeks ago but this just highlighted the black spot fungus affecting many of the stones. So I purchased, at great expense, so black spot fungus remover and have been gradually applying it, leaving it for an hour or so and then washing it off. It is recommended to do small areas at a time and re-apply if necessary.It was and I did. The end result looks pretty good I think. One problem not mentioned in the instructions is the cleaner totally bleaches your work jeans, an interesting look.
The other change to the patio is the removal of stones to make two new flower beds. This was done when the garden was saturated (not bone dry like now) and so the stones were just piled up on another part of the patio. These all had to be moved before the black spot treatment. Many of the stones were big, many were heavy, all were cumbersome and difficult to move
The mulch for these two beds, together with the larger on near the summer house arrived yesterday, five tons of slate chippings. One wheelbarrow, one shovel and one rather old blipper combined to move it all into place. Plants need planting but then its done.
All the ideas that seemed good in theory and have been hard work in practice have nearly all been finished and I will be able to sit and enjoy the garden all through the summer. Except I get bored easily and will start having more ideas.
The blip, today’s only photo, is of the rear wheel arch of my Citroen Belingo and the nest a blackbird has started to build on the wheel. I need to get out more

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.