Phoenix

This is one of the best wooden roller coasters still operating. It's Jill's overall favorite coaster and one of my favorite wooden coasters. It's called Phoenix, and it operated in San Antonio from 1948 to 1980. Knoebels in Pennsylvania bought it and moved it piece by piece, opening it in 1985. It is a fine creation.

It felt so good to go back to an amusement park. This park is good about mask enforcement, though distancing in lines was mostly being ignored. I have only had one round of the vaccine, so I am not fully vaccinated yet. It's better than nothing, but I still felt a bit anxious when we ate (distanced and outdoors).

We're hoping to visit more amusement parks this year than last year, when we only made it to three. We're planning on going next week for my "wellness day," an extra day off we got from work. And on Tuesday, we're (finally) picking up my bicycle. It'll be a busy eight days.

In extras:
- Flyer seats sitting in the picnic shelters. The ride wasn't assembled.
- Grand Carousel
- Impulse heading down its first drop
- Grabbing a ring on the carousel

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.