stuartjross

By stuartjross

New PC

My work PC, 2014 vintage,  has struggled a bit with some of the large data sets I throw at it now. For certain processes the survey software off loads some of the number crunching to the "graphics card" component. I can hear it wheezing as though it has asthma then if the strain gets too much it crashes. I have been using awkward workarounds which are slow and are not getting the best from the application. The replacement came today and the old one will now handle office admin which has very low hardware demands.
Once you rig things up it is ridiculous how many little every day apps you need to reinstall.
The photo are bits that are left over in the box. I have no idea where they are supposed to go.
It is up and running and it seems to have no shortage of stamina. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.