brambleblossom

By brambleblossom

Almost finished ....

I’ve been focused on a sewing project for the last few days, it’s nearly completed with just a few finishing touches to go .

I’m making a prewedding gift for my neice and her soon to be husband, using their wedding colours , pink , ivory and navy blue . she and I are quite sentimental so I have gathered together buttons from my mums button box , a much loved but worn table cloth that my neice will remember from the many family meals she ate with her grandparents and some buttons covered with fabric from my mums wedding dress .
The beautiful fabric I’m using for the bags was a gift sent by a blip friend which makes it all the more special . I’ve shared before that elephants are an important family symbol and this fabric design includes small family groups of elephants .
My niece’s finance was originally from Ghana and many of his family members live there still . Elephants are also an important symbol in Ghanaian culture so I hope he will be pleased to receive his bag . My thought is that they can use their bags to collect all the little bits and pieces that a wedding involves .
The wedding was to have been a grand affair with a traditional Ghanaian ceremony on the Thursday followed by a church wedding on the Saturday . They both come from big families and have lots of friends so they had a huge guest list . In the end they will have 30 guests and a simpler affair .
My little family will drive down so that we can see them go into the church and then throw heaps of something eco friendly when they come out .
As this is a back blip I can see that our Bank Holiday is a wet one . I hope you enjoy it , whatever the weather .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.