Yesterday at Santos!

I loaded Silver, packed my cooler with Gatorade, water, and Ice tea, packed a change of clothes and off to Santos in the Ocala National Forest.  It was humid, but a nice breeze was blowing, the skies were cloudy (so no hot sun) and off I went.
    Santos was full....  very little parking anywheres.   Out in the big field and pond were vehicles, families, and especially kids, running all around.
     Little did I know, there was a local dirt bike race happening.   I got on the paved trail and headed for the land bridge.  About halfway there a man stood up, waved a flag, and stopped all riders and walkers.  The next thing I see is a group of 4 racers come flying out of the forest, jumped a log, landed in dirt, crossed the pavement and zoom up and away into the forest on the other side!   The man continued to hold up a sign, and 3 more flew across  the pavement again!   What a surprise!!!!!!
    Then the man waved us on.    That was a surprise!    I went on to the Land Bridge which is where I took a picture of Silver.  It's that time of year when all of our wild flowers in bloom.  On my return trip I stopped at one of the culverts to get a picture of the Flocks blooming in the sun.   Once back at the car I found out that there was Dirt Bike Racing for different age groups.  Now the kids who had already run their race were playing baseball.  It was a beautiful family day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.