Scrawny Old Man

By richtoller

Tina

On my first morning in Nalerigu my hosts' kids met me for the first time in two years. Godsway (big brother) remembered me and almost took me for granted. Little sister Tina was a baby last time, now she's nearly 3. When she saw me she cried and wouldn't go near me - not an unusual reaction, those of you who know me will understand.
Within a minute or two she came to me and from then on I was her best pal. If she wasn't happy about anything she came to me, if she was crying she stopped, if she was being asked to eat and didn't want to, she would come to me - and eat. If she had to have that hair combed she cried - then came to me and got it done quietly.
When her dad asked her if she was going to go back to Scotland with Grandpa Richard, she just nodded her head. Even in this picture she's still my pal though just before this she'd been sleeping on my knee and the chair collapsed under us and we both ended up all over the floor - much to everybody else's consternation and my amusement.

Thursday's blocks are protecting a new mango tree from the goats. Amos has planted 2 between the house and church, and most houses have at least one close or in the courtyard. Great for shade as well as fruit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.