Blip is Lunacy

I (Annie) had a lot to do today. It's always the way before a holiday: you suddenly feel the need to do all those things you've been putting off before. I also had work to finish off before the week off. Yuk! So to put it off as long as I could, I rearranged the magnets on our fridge to fit the new set on: The Periodic Table.

Our fridge rages out of control with the amount of extra stuff on it: from the informative (departements of France or times tables), to the creative (can't beat a bit of magnet poetry), to the silly (Michael Fish and a full set of weather symbols). We also pick up the cheesiest magnet we can at each tourist destination we go to. The fridge is somewhere under there. I think.

My mum would have been pleased with our latest magnet set. I grew up in a scientific household, with my mum a computer programmer in the days when that meant big scary machines in massive halls, magnetic tape and punch cards. In our house we had posters on the walls such as the structure of an atom and the periodic table. It never crossed my mind as I grew up that science wasn't a girls' subject - of course it was. What she had in scientific expertise, she lacked in other areas - once famously making a rice pudding, but forgetting the rice. It came out surprisingly well (a little runny). It'll be 20 years this year since her death and she's very keenly missed. She never "did" Mother's Day, but I'll be thinking of her tomorrow.

It's suprisingly hard to make words out of the elements. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.