Green Man

My entry today is the Green Man - legendary being interpreted as a symbol of rebirth, representing the cycle of new growth that occurs in the Spring - the Green Man is often seen in churches.

Beltane/May Day (Gaelic) halfway between Spring and Summer - lots of traditions one I know of locally (although not sure if it takes place during COVID) is performed at Castle Cary - a bonfire is lit on the hill overlooking the small town to welcome and protect the new season growth and the people
 
A tradition that I had intended to follow was the decoration of a tree/bush (Wishing Tree or May Day Tree) my Christmas Tree was very small when purchased a few years ago I planted it in the front garden - it has since grown to be a handsome tree 3' high - but due to the awful weather yesterday - very strong wind I did not decorate it with ribbons - shame

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.