ninniex

By ninniex

TT 310.........Celtic Winter Festival

Well I have taken some photographers' licence here with my gathering together my Celtic winter thingy.

I knew I had some Celtic "stuff" in my box of mum's things, which I just can't get rid of. I found this brooch which I think was her mother's. Gave it a bit of a polish and I think it's actually gold. There is a stamp on the back so perhaps.......... ;-))

I was reading a bit on Celtic knots and flowers etc and although I think the brooch is probably Welsh, I am pretending that the rain soaked clover in the back garden is actually the Irish Shamrock.  My maternal grandfather was from Wales. With a name like Hugh Hughes he couldn't be from anywhere else really. My father's family were from Scotland, with my paternal grandfather's name being Douglas Malcolm. There are some Irish in there somewhere as well, just for you, freespiral  but no time to dig deeper today .


I have enjoyed the time spent this afternoon reading a little about what is my history I guess. Thanks freespiral for the challenge and I'm sorry about the shamrock clover ;-)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.