Legodude

By Legodude

On familiar ground

My day-trip to Keswick went very well. After an early start I arrived and went to Lego-Nan's grave to lay flowers & bury the ornament shown in yesterday's blip. It rained all day but did a lot of walking (8-10 miles I think) and took a lot of photos which meant I ended up waterlogged along with the camera! But thankfully its fine. Will add some pictures to my Blipfolio tomorrow. Today's post shows a view from the side of Friar's Crag, looking across Derwent Water toward Catbells (the fell). My Great Grandad stood on Friar's Crag and liked the location so much he said he'd make his home in Keswick. He opened a pharmacy in the town (Lego-Nan also trained as a pharmacist) but his noteworthiness comes from him being a leading amateur wildlife photographer/filmer of the day. This included work in Africa and other countries. My photo was taken in colour but the lighting was so bad due to the low clouds and rain I've converted it to mono. Sorry I'm behind with comment and your journals will catch up tomorrow when I'm less likely to fall asleep at the keyboard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.