jojobunny

By jojobunny

Bolduc Farm-Maple Sugaring

This sap house is the oldest continuously run business in the world, according to the owners.
Started in 1779 on the family farm, it began producing maple syrup and has done so, right up to the present day.
Today, as I was taking photos, the door opened and a young woman called me in to see the boiling of the sap. Inside were several of the owners, who told me some of the history, as they boiled down the fresh sap from the maple trees on the property. They told me that this year would be a great year for making maple syrup, because the temperatures were perfect to create a great flow of the sap. Cold nights and mild days is what every sugar shack owner longs for.
The large vats, where the sap was boiling, were heated by a wood box, underneath.
It was very steamy and quite warm inside the sap house.
They then offered me a donut or a pancake to test the syrup. I chose a donut and Mr. Bolduc then dipped the ladel into the hot liquid, which was now boiled down to the most delicious, sweet maple syrup I ever tasted! He drizzled it over the donut, and I ended my visit with a wonderful treat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.