Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Nearly didn't make it!

Today was a trip down memory lane for me as I took Mauzee on a tour of my old stamping ground.  We started out at City Beach and the memory I shared was a pretty scary one.  When we were little we lived in Wembley and on a hot summers morning Mum and Dad would bundle us all into the car very early before school and we would go to City Beach for a swim.  It really set us up for the day.  On one particular morning I got into difficulty and I can clearly remember Dad walking out on the Groyne you can see in the image and calling out, "Come in Barb, we're going" and I said, "Dad I can't come in".  It turned out I along with another fellow had been caught in a rip.  It took a chain of people to work together to pull us both out of the rip and I have to tell you it was a terrifying experience.  Needless to say, I have never been too keen on swimming in the surf ever since.  As you will see from Mauzee's journal today the sky was the hero out there today.  At one stage we could see a tornado like water spout way out to sea near Rottnest Island, it was a spectacular sight.  

I have posted two extras tonight of two totally different houses.  The first one is the brick and tile house located at 111 Essex St, Wembley. We lived in that house for the first 18 years of my life and it's the one where Dad used to grow his champion roses.  No sign of one rose bush when we called past today.  It was a strange feeling to stand there and go through who all our neighbours were and stand under the Box Tree that was only a sapling when I was a little girl growing up.  
The second extra is one of "Paganin House" which featured in one of the ABC's Restoration Australia Series.  Actually it was Series 2 Episode 1.  Mauzee is a mid-century modern fanatic (to say the least) and we were both determined to find the house when we knew we would be visiting Perth.  It has a very dramatic story attached to it and we can highly recommend viewing that particular episode.  Standing on the street looking at the masterpiece we both agreed that it was spectacular.

All in all it was a wonderful day once again and I'm going to say it once again that it's so incredibly heartwarming to be back in my home town!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.