Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Polling Day!

JR’s exercise this morning was an early supermarket visit, followed by an online session later in the morning. I managed a half-hearted yoga session. 

The day was cold and showery - the usual. We chose a sunny spell to nip out to vote. And there was a very long queue. Thoughts of a longer walk to the Meadows with Archie were abandoned as the rain came on again. 

JR went into town to return an item. And buy another one. I watched a bit of YouTube - mainly one chap’s video on doing the Route 500, round the north west coast of Scotland, which we might do one day, though I’ve done it years ago, and JR has visited much of the West Coast. 

JR made a cake for tomorrow - for our visitor. When the rain stopped, I took Archie down to see the blossom again. It’s still hanging in there, despite the windy weather. It’s pretty soggy there after all the rain (Extra). We spent ages there, Archie sniffing around, piddling on every tree, while I fiddle around trying to get a different angle on the blossom. 

There was a fantastic dark sky, and yes - sure enough - the rain came again. But I was wearing my new Barbour rain jacket, and I wanted to christen it, but we were both drookit.

I see that the Jersey Evening Post has some proper news to report, with the French fishing boats blockading their harbour in protest, and Boris sending in two Royal Navy gunships. Its front pages are usually stories about lost cats...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.