Day 1

Of the hatching.

I haven't been down to the canal lately so hadn't heard the very sad news that Cob Swan has been run over by a car and killed so the Pen is on her own.  The nest has been built in a very dangerous place this year very near a bridge over the canal.  The local residents are aware of the Swans, and have respect for them but delivery drivers and non-locals are not so aware.  Such a great shame but what a treat for me to catch a few shots of her moving position and seeing a couple of the eggs, one about to hatch and the other with the first hole.  I didn't want to stay around too long but will return tomorrow to see if there are cygnets.  I do hope so.

Whilst I was having a lovely morning Mr HB was attending the funeral of a dear Glider friend - RIP K.

Extra:  All fluffed up and waiting for the arrivals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.