olivereastwd

By olivereastwd

Cold, wet and windy...but still loads of people

Downtown Glasgow was heaving today, despite the rain and cold - apparently perfect shopping weather judging by the number of teens with clothing bags. I was in town for a first aid training session for work, then went straight off for work. G was unable to vote at the polling station as apparently he was registered for a postal vote, but with a few phone calls I got it sorted and he was able to get his vote in, which we was super happy about.

I also voted today for the first time. It feels amazing to take part in democracy, and I had a big grin on my face as I submitted my ballot papers. It's night and day from the last election I was around for - during the 2019 Indonesian presidential elections, election workers died from exhaustion and there were violent riots in Jakarta for several days in protest of the result. Nice to have a comparatively smooth and peaceful election!

- o

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.