madowoi

By madowoi

Hey, Nice Sign!

Here in their safe and simple house of death,
Sealed in their shells, a million roses leap;
Here I can stir a garden with my breath,
And in my hand a forest lies asleep.

from The Seed-Shop, by Muriel Stuart


I have never been much of one for gardening. I understand the appeal of it in theory, but am a bit too lazy in practice. Maybe if I ate more vegetables...

In any case people who do like this sort of thing often frequent my wife's place of work, where they are greeted by all sorts of little touches that make the place a bit more homey and inviting. Like this sign. 

We've been sharing the car lately so I get to stop in and loiter about until the shop closes. Sometimes it's nice to get a peek into the life your significant other, or even just a good friend, leads while they are away at work. Some people work jobs you rarely get a glimpse of, and it means there is a part of them you might not get to really know. Other people, when you see them at work you think, "of course, it makes perfect sense that's what they do all day."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.