100 ABSTRACTS - NUMBER 27

Since I have been doing my 100 Abstracts Challenge, I haven’t always joined in with the other challenges, but today I thought I would and anyway, I wanted to give my beautiful Phalaenopsis Orchid its 15 minutes of fame on Blip.

I thought this orchid was dead, so I left it in the hallway, probably not in the best position, and ignored it.  Then one day I looked at it as I was passing and saw that apart from the leaves, there was a tiny shoot.  I brought the pot into my kitchen and put it on the windowsill, watered it once a week, as I would do normally, where it has thrived and now has 13 beautiful and intricate flowers and three more buds that will soon bloom.  I have put a shot in as an extra so that you can see how beautiful it is;  in fact, whenever I look at an orchid flower, I am astounded by its shape, colour and beauty - it is truly a work of art! 

I rather like this abstract shot though, and this has been fartnarkled with just slightly in Snapseed, after taking the shot with my SlowShutter App.  So here is number 27 of my 100 Abstracts, which, if you follow my journal, you will know I am doing to raise awareness of the wonderful work the Mamie Martin Fund does in North Malawi, in providing secondary education for young women and girls.  I am also thrilled to have the first donation to my JustGiving page, the link for which I will leave below and if you feel like supporting this wonderful cause, every little helps.

It’s a bright and sunny day, so Mr. HCB is out in the garden, working feverishly to get everything done before his eye operation next Tuesday, following which, if it's not done, I shall be his apprentice!  It’s still quite windy, but at least it is warmer than it has been of late, although we haven’t had snow as many places up north have.

Hope you have a great weekend and that the sun shines on you, wherever you are.

“Being happy doesn’t mean that 
     everything is perfect;  
          it means that you’ve decided 
               to look beyond the imperfections.”
Unknown

https://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/MaureenIles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.