1638 at Rolvenden

First turn back in Wittersham Road signalbox completed successfully. I was only there for the morning as we’re trying to get as many signalmen back in the boxes during the shakedown services prior to reopening to the public on 22nd May.

It was most agreeable to open the door and get the first whiff of the box. What a moment. However, I didn’t have to box to myself as I was subjected, as we all will be, to a visit from an assistant signalling inspector to assess and sign off our competency prior to reopening.

Today’s shot is of GWR Pannier Tank 1638 waiting at Rolvenden to proceed light engine to Tenterden to work the first service of the day. They’re called Panniers as the tanks hang like saddlebags either side of the boiler.

When I was a boy we used to call them Matchboxes. You can see why. Three or four of them always used to be playing with the trucks in the LMS and GWR goods sidings west of Wellington station near my grandparents home. They are my favourite locomotive.

All the signalling equipment worked well, which is more than can be said for the telephony most of which seemed to be in a huff. I recorded and reported all the faults.

I completed my first crossing move at Wittersham Road for 18 months, this is where a down train on the single line from Tenterden comes into the platform and waits while an up train on the single line from Bodiam passes on the through line. I was pleased that worked well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.