Loch Pityoulish

This was my longest ride so far, I set off from Roy Bridge and headed east. In about 15 miles I was hammered with cold snow and hail showers and pulled over to shelter in some trees and munch a banana. The showers passed over and this, combined with the calorie hit, gave an enormous boost to the legs and moral. Progress felt easy and I stopped at a cafe next in Kingussie for a biscuit and coffee. Bizarrely, I entered and a I heard someone calling my name; a client from Spean sitting with a colleague in the corner. Another boost had the legs working fine again. Approaching the Aviemore outskirts I realised I was going to be well short of my hoped for 100k. I turned right to Coylum Bridge and the the back road passing Loch Pityoulish. I stopped here to take on water and get a photo and got talking with a wild life photographer, a really nice guy, who was recovering from serious illness and surgery. His ongoing medication was still having unpleasant side effects. He was full of praise for the Glasgow and Highland medical teams who had cared for him. Most of all I thought his own spirit and guts had been a huge part of his recovery.
I had an exchange of texts with Mrs SJR now at a BoG cafe. Optimistically, I said I would be there in 15 minutes  I wasn't too late.

My app gave me 95 km. I can do a 100k another day

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.