Grey Heron

The young one wasn't at the overflow area at the entrance. I walked round and couldn't see her. The overflow area at the side of the loch has almost receded but I couldn't see her there either. The path is very muddy at one point and just wide enough for two. I let a couple go in front of me and I went next followed by another couple. I really wasn't paying much attention but was aware of some movement and a slight gasp from the woman behind me. When I looked round the young one had landed just to the side of me and was walking over to me. I took her box of fish out and started feeding her, much to the amazement of the couple.
Her fish was landing on the muddy surface and she was having a little difficulty picking it up without twigs and dirt. Unbelievably she wandered over to a puddle near the fence round the loch and stood there and looked at me. I wandered over and threw bits of her fish into the puddle and she carried on eating with ease. 
I never cease to be amazed at how clever she is and  how she can recognise me from other people.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.