Faith

Faith

I’m thinking of starting a revolution
or, if not that, reading a book.
Maybe one about overthrows,
beheadings galore,
lots of debauchery
and virtually no reflection,
Maybe not.
‘You’ve got to have faith!’ she’d told me,
before leaving me standing
with my tongue hanging out
and my hopes dashed to kingdom come.

Of course I’m not an idiot.
Well, only on occasion.
I’ve always had faith,
sometimes in abundance
and sometimes lost in the weeds.
Belief though can be misguided.
Penelope was easy proof of that.

Still, I’m up for a new challenge,
well and truly signed up
to take on all comers
and deliver myself happiness.
That and the crossed fingers,
rabbits foot,
hand pressed four leaf clover
(Sellotape not showing)
and rabbits foot in the shed.

A X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.