Beinghere

By Beinghere

Furled Fern Fronds

It had only been three days since we we were in the woods, but what a difference there was. There has been an amazing amount of growth. The grass looks greener and longer, more foliage on the trees, more water in the burn, but the fern fronds have taken over the place. They have shot up. There’s all the leaves from the trees hanging down and these alien-looking tall stalks with lovely curls on the end reaching upwards. In a few weeks the forest floor will be a mass of healthy green ferns.

Although there have been a few small showers today, there has been little or no wind, and it has actually felt mild. Geordie was delighted to be back in the wood. He started crying in the car when we turned at Elie in the direction of the wood. There was lots of bird song today, and I could hear the woodpecker, but couldn’t catch sight of him.
Talking of bird song, when I was out in the garden very late last night I could hear a bird call I didn’t recognise, then straight after, the call would be repeated in a lower tone, which was maybe a mate. I don’t know, but tonight I will be out trying to recorder it if I hear it again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.