JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 129: sowing and potting

Today I've tried to catch up with some of the many garden jobs. First, I moved the large tomato plants to the greenhouse now that our hard April frosts seem to be over. The plantsx came from my nonagenarian neighbour C a few weeks ago, and I potted them on into large pots and put them in my (unheated) greenhouse. That night, the outdoor temperature fell to -6 Celsius, and one plant turned brown and subsequently lost all its leaves. I rushed the remaining five indoors, where they have been in the way ever since, so it was good to return them to the greenhouse today.

Then I sowed seeds: pumpkins, butternut squashes, cannellini beans, fine purple French beans, and some old coriander seed which I scattered thickly in a small tub to see if it will still germinate. I also potted on some beetroot seedlings, a very congested part tray donated by C, who, as so often, had grown far more than he needed. It felt pleasantly productive, and was comfortably mild in the garden with shifting clouds and intermittent sun. As I cleared up, thunder was echoing up and down the valley from a huge storm in the Channel and the sky was darkening. I just got all the laundry in before the rain arrived.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.